beach cruising + la bocca

i had such a great day this past sunday. my friend sarah just got a beach cruiser (and since i got one for christmas – custom-made!), we decided to take a ride along tempe town lake.

sarah looking like a hippie

first, we decided to get some lunch, so we parked and head to la bocca. i’d never been there before, but i’ve heard great things. plus sarah and i love us a good, chill wine bar (aka postino or the living room!!).

we started out with a 4 brushetta sampler. sadly, i didn’t take pics because we were starving (service was a little slow) and distracted by this bus.

for our entree’s, sarah ordered the pear and goat cheese salad.

and i ordered the caprese salad. so refreshing on a day like this.

we headed back from lunch to get our bikes out of our cars. first, let me back up a little and tell you that it took my an hour to get my bike into my honda civic. so frustrating. i took the front tire off and maneuvered the handle bars until it fit just right. i just need a bike rack asap. sarah has an suv, so it was a little bit easier for her, but still a pain.

we got the bikes out of the cars fine though and popped my tire back on real fast and headed out! it was a gorgeous day for riding (79 degrees and sunny) and i wore a tank top and shorts!

sarah has a bell and i have this coffee cup bell, so the only tasks remaining before our next ride: getting bike racks and baskets. oh and forcing our friend melissa to get a cute baby blue and white bike to match all of our colors (lavender – sarah and pink/brown – me). 🙂

in other news, gas prices in arizona have sky rocketed and are said to go up even more this summer. i wish i could ride my bike everywhere. phoenix is just too spread out.

anyways, happy tuesday and happy mardi gras! i’m excited to try my version of shrimp po’boys (!!!!) and jenna’s oven-baked beignets tonight.

5 thoughts on “beach cruising + la bocca

  1. danielle says:

    your bike is so cute!! you crack me up: “sadly, i didn’t take pics because… we were distracted by this bus” lol!

  2. Lisa D says:

    I would appreciate you not posting about your beautiful weather while I freeze to death in NYC… hehe just kidding! Looks like such a wonderful (and yummy) day!!!

    • ashley says:

      Haha! Just wait until you come in May! It will be nice and hot for you! 🙂 Wish I was in New York though, even despite the weather. Miss you!

  3. Liz says:

    Cute pictures! But where is your helmet? Traumatic brain injuries are no joke!

    (this is what I hear in my head every time I get out my bicycle–thanks Mom!)

Leave a Reply

