Baked tilapia fish sticks

Happy afternoon! How is your day? Mine has been pretty busy, but I’ve still had time to dream of these fish sticks I made not too long ago!

They were crispy, flavorful, healthy and pure heaven. ‘Twas delish. I was worried that I needed tarter sauce, but these babies tasted just fine with a ketchup and mustard mix.

Being a vegetarian, it’s hard for me to get protein into my diet. My typical sources are:

  • Hummus/Garbanzo beans
  • Nuts, sunflower seeds
  • Cheese, milk
  • Quinoa
  • Black beans
  • Eggs – Mostly egg whites, but I’ll have hard boiled eggs in my salad sometimes
  • And seafood

So, technically I’m a pescatarian, but most people don’t know what that means. It means that I don’t eat pork, beef, chicken or turkey, but I do eat dairy, eggs and fish. There are so many variations of “vegetarian.” They even have semi-vegetarians, who eat meat, but will opt for vegetarian meals first when it’s available.

Although it’s a great source of protein, I don’t get enough seafood as I should – sushi here and there and maybe frozen shrimp or tilapia when we have it stocked up. Costco has great options for frozen seafood – since it can get expensive to always get the fresh kind – because they sell in bulk. And since the boy works at Costco, I ask him get them for us all the time (which is exactly what I did this morning!). He’s pretty good like that. 🙂

Tonight, I’m envisioning fish tacos….But right now, I’m off to read to the children at UMOM with East Valley Rotaract. 🙂

Until then, here is my recipe for the healthy fish sticks from above.

Tilapia fish sticks

Ingredients:

2 tilapia fillets, sliced lengthwise (you can also use halibut or any fish you prefer)

1 cup breadcrumbs, or panko

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup flour

parsley

*i also added red pepper flakes for some spice (that’s a must!)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Take the fish fillets and slice lengthwise, then cut the lengths in halves (about an inch wide). In a small shallow bowl beat the egg. In a separate bowl, mix all the dry ingredients together. Dip the each fish strips into the egg mixture, covering completely, then the dry mixture. Place on a sprayed baking sheet. Bake for 5 minutes, then rotate sides and bake for another 5 minutes.

One thought on “Baked tilapia fish sticks

Leave a Reply

