Mexican food madness

Hey all! How was your weekend? Mine was a whirl-wind, but awesome. Sorry I couldn’t post the past few days – it’s been pretty cray cray. I’m going out of town this weekend into next week so I needed to get some article deadlines in.

Anywho, I wanted to share with you some awesome Mexican food my family and I had for my older sister Christina’s birthday. She turned 27. Check out her hair-do.My mom made chicken enchiladas and veggie enchiladas for me! They were delicious. They had zucchini, carrots, onions, and cheese in them. She also made home made refried beans. You’ll never want to eat canned beans again after tasting them!

I made guacamole, salsa and Spanish rice (recipes are below). My mom’s roommate made this fantastic artichoke and green chilies and cheese dip! It was to die for!

My mom made a three-layer vanilla cake with pistachio frosting, with little pieces of pistachio! So creative.

Then, we played Apples to Apples….

New. Favorite. Game. Maybe that’s because my family is so goofy, but it was really interesting. πŸ™‚

Well, there you have it! Have a great Thursday!! πŸ™‚

Guacamole

Ingredients:

5 avocadoes, ripe

1/2 onion, diced

1/2 tomato, diced

3/4 package fat-free cream cheese

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

2 jalapenos, diced

Directions:

1. Cut avocadoes in half, de-pit and scoop insides into a medium bowl. Smash the avocadoes until choppy.

2. Add cream cheese, jalapenos, tomatoes, onions and cilantro, garlic salt and mix together.

Salsa

Ingredients:

4 large tomatoes, diced

1 can diced tomatoes

4 jalapenos, diced

1/2 onion, diced

1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Place chopped tomatoes, can of diced tomatoes, onion, jalapenos and cilantro in a food processor and pulse until only a little chunkiness is left.

2. Add salt, pepper, garlic powder and mix together.

One thought on “Mexican food madness

Leave a Reply

