Thanksgiving dinner

Hi friends.

I apologize for the lack of communication lately. You’ll forgive me, right? It’s the holiday season afterall. Did you have a good Thanksgiving? Enjoy your eats? Did anyone do a Turkey Trot? I had planned on it but I was too sore still from my half the previous Sunday – which I will get to in another post! 🙂

As for now, I’d love to share with you some amazing food I had over Thanksgiving weekend – and the weekend before. My mom worked on Thanksgiving Day so we had ours a little earlier. Here is some of her spread:

There was ham, mashed potatoes and vegetarian gravy (mushroom based), an avocado/black bean salad, my baked brussels sprouts, my veggie/pumpkin quinoa stew (inside the pumpkin – recipe to come), wild rice pilaf (a signature for my mom), baked sweet potatoes, salad, cranberries…

My mom also made Hoki fish for me, but everyone ended up eating some because it was so good. She also made some creamed corn, which may sound disgusting, but is so good.

For desserts, my little sister handmade red velvet cupcakes with a boiled milk frosting (My stepdad helped. ;))! She’s such a little baker now. Then we had a chocolate creme pie and a berry cobbler. 🙂

‘Twas a pretty great feast. We also played Apples to Apples – probably one of my family’s favorite games right now.

On actual Thanksgiving, we started at my dads for “linner.” 😉 Here’s the spread:

Deviled eggs – which are so good, but can be so bad! So, I think they’re rightly named.

My dad has a fresh spinach and romaine lettuce salad from his garden and the green beans below were from his garden too!! He’s such a great gardner! 🙂 I have so much to learn still.

  He also grew all of these too! Purple carrots, radish and green onions! (They were huge!)

And for dessert we had Coco’s Pumpkin creme pie, which was amazing!! And then I made apple dumplings. 🙂 Recipe to come soon!! They were so easy to make people. So easy.

Then, we went over to the boy’s sister’s house for their Thanksgiving. Luckily we had a few good hours to digest our first feast. 🙂

The spread there was:

A delicious sweet potato pie, green bean casserole (!!) and a squash and mushroom gratin.

Also, salad and bread, brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes and gravy, and of course, turkey. They made two! I didn’t take pics of these for obvious reasons. 😉

 

The boy’s sister made some amazing chocolate cookies with pomegranate and chocolate chips inside. They were out of this world, all hot and topped with ice cream. Oh. M. Gee.

That’s the conclusion of our day! I had to work the next day so sadly I didn’t go shopping (unless you count the online deals I got!), but I got off early and met some girlfriends at Cornish Pasty for some drinks and mid-day snack. They have so many vegetarian options it’s amazing. I got the Chicken Asiago pasty with the veggie ‘chicken’ and it was so good!

Hope ya’ll are well! 🙂 Updates on my half marathon in Big Sur to come soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

