Ragnar Relay recap and spring race schedule

Happy first day of March pears! Spring is in the air and it’s a great time for a new round of goals. πŸ™‚ I mention a lot of running goals below.

For now, I want to tell you about my weekend. I participated in something intense. Something crazy. Something fun, terrifying and accomplishing. I wanted to die, cry and laugh at the same time.

Myself and 11 other runners signed up as a team for Ragnar Relay Del Sol, a 200-mile relay race from Wickenburg to Tempe. It was the hardest race I’ve ever done in my life.

Here’s a glimpse of my crazy team and a few photos from along the way.

Β 

So basically, Van 1 started in Wickenburg at 7 a.m. with their first runner. They passed on a slap bracelet (our baton) to each runner at 6 different exchange points and then Van 2 (my van) met up with them to start our legs. We did this swap 3 times so each person ran 3 different legs.

My first one was 9.6 miles and they were easily the hardest miles I’ve ever ran. I wanted to just stop and lay on the asphalt. I should have brought another GU too. It was also unexpectedly hot outside and some of the other teams had people pass out from dehydration. One person even had to go to the hospital!

My second leg was 4.2 miles and I ran it at about 3 a.m. so it was freezing! I had a long sleeve shirt on, sweatshirt, pants, gloves – the works! And despite all the reflective and light gear (sexy!) I had on, it was so dark! I couldn’t see anything and there weren’t a lot of other runners around me. Needless to say, I ran this baby fast! But, it was a great run!

My third leg was 5.9 (but ended up being 6.1) and was gorgeous. It was during the day again, but wasn’t so hot. I got to run through the Scottsdale Greenbelt and got some shade coverage. It was a fun one, but I was SO happy I was done.

Despite falling down and spraining my left ankle, losing one of my left toe nails (so painful) and having more joint pain in my left knee, I’d definitely do it again! πŸ™‚

Here are a few other events I’ve done so far this year and some that I have registered for!

January 15 – End Polio Now Hike at Superstition Mountains. (My club, East Valley Rotaract, and I organized this specific hike and it was a lot of fun. It was about 7 miles.) CHECK

February 24-25Ragnar Relay Del SolCHECK

March 3 Phoenix Half Marathon – Sold out! #Runningfail.

March 17Gladiator Rock ‘n’ Run 5K

April 21Pat’s Run

Hm, that’s about it for now. πŸ™‚

Are there any fun runs or events on your spring schedule?

7 thoughts on “Ragnar Relay recap and spring race schedule

Leave a Reply

