Healthy Avocado Egg Salad

smile-its-free{Thought I’d share a small tip for a little happiness today}

Happy Friday! I’m so glad the weekend is here! I’ve got a quick-and-easy lunchtime staple for you – would be perfect to prep for your lunches next week. 🙂

Avocado Egg Salad

So, I despise mayo. Yup, I passed dislike and went straight for despise. The texture alone just sends shivers down my spine. I suppose this is the reason why I don’t normally eat egg salad sandwiches and I’ve never been into tuna salad. Even before I stopped eating chicken, I would stray away from chicken salad most of the time. It made the “salad” so heavy, goopy, and sometimes, runny.

avocado-egg-salad{I topped an everything sandwich thin with my avocado egg salad mix}

I’ve heard rumors of adding avocado in the mixture instead of mayo. Seeing as I LOVE avocado, I decided to experiment. It was so delicious. I wanted to lick my container at work, but thought it would be slightly inappropriate. I’ll save that behavior for at home (sorry babe!).

I don’t necessarily like egg yolks either. They’re OK in a scramble or bake, but I’m not really feeling it when it comes to hard boiled eggs. So, I just used egg whites, avocado, garlic powder, diced pickle slices, salt & pepper, and a scallion. It was very filling and I was super satisfied with the result.

Just wanted to share the recipe with you. 🙂

Avocado Egg Salad

2 egg whites, hard boiled and diced
1/2 avocado, diced
1 scallion, diced
4 pickle slices, diced
1/8 teaspoon garlic powder
pinch of salt and pepper

Mix all six ingredients in a bowl and serve on a sandwich thin, with crackers, or eat plain.

Weekend

Any plans for the weekend? Today is my mom’s 50th birthday (Happy Birthday, mom!!), but sadly I’m not home to celebrate with her today. I will be in a few weeks, though, so that counts, right? And I can’t wait to show her her present!

It’s also my friend Lisa’s birthday. We plan to have some great food (going to an Italian BYOB Saturday), do a little dancing in the Lower East Side (hopefully ending up at our dive staple: Arrow Bar), and then go to a Cinco de Mayo brunch on Sunday at Fonda Comida Mexicana. It’s $25 for all you can drink margs, mimosas, or bloody mary’s. Score!

Oh – and I have a 12 mile run on Saturday morning. Help me! 😉

What are your plans? Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

