Take Your Base 5K recap

run
This past weekend, Lisa and I ran our first 5K race in years! It had been 3-4 years for me and even longer for Lisa. I guess when we started signing up for half marathons we got slightly addicted to them.
post-race-lisa

That being said, we weren’t sure what to expect. We’re used to saving our energy and running with the knowledge that we have time to catch up. That’s the case for most half marathons, but not for 5Ks.

For a 5K, (which is 3.1 miles) you kind of need to give it your all. I think Lisa did a great job with this – I actually think she could have gone faster – but I tend to dig at myself mentally, as I’m sure many runners do.

I make a bad habit of looking at my Garmin every 5 seconds minutes to see the mph (miles per hour) I’m going. And for this race, I even said at one point: “We’re going too fast.” Hahaha. WHO says that in a race? I almost laughed at myself after I said it. If you’re feeling good in a race at the pace you’re going, there shouldn’t be anything holding you back. Except yourself. Which for me, is true. It’s completely mental.

So, for this race, Lisa and I did stay together, but the last 1/4 mile or so, she booked it ahead. 🙂 She has those gazelle legs to sprint it in! I have little short stub of legs, so it’s a little harder for me. 😉

And, it’s not that I can’t sprint it in, I just always tend to give up. It’s a quality I’ve always felt ashamed of, but that I’ve been fighting to overcome. I know for some things I’m not a quitter, and I’ll be the first to cheer someone on and promote “team efforts.” So, it’s strange that I always seem to give up on myself.

I remember distinct times in high school running cross country and track, where I just gave up. Who. does. that. ya’ll?

I’ll make bargains with myself and say: “If I just finish my workout, or if I pass a few more people in this race, I’ll be that much closer to being great. Oh – and I’ll treat myself to froyo after.” Those kinds of bargains. Sometimes I imagine that I’m a really great runner – an Olympian even – and it helps boosts my confidence and I’m less likely to quit.

Ew. I just said the work “quit.” It’s not a fun one to say, and it’s even less fun to do. I’ve been striving for years to erase it from my vocabulary. As a writer, it’s slightly hard. As a runner, it’s also slightly hard. But, I’m getting there. I’ve actually become more confident as a runner since I moved to New York. I haven’t pinpointed exactly what it is that has helped, but I’m sure grateful.

Do any of you go through mental struggles when running? Or even when you’re working out? Do you tend to stop before the last two squats or only push your stretch halfway during yoga? It’s all mental, my friends. But, I’m glad to be sharing this journey with you!

So, all-in-all, for the Take Your Base 5K, I ended up with a time of 24:42, with a pace of 7:58 min miles. Not bad. My goal was to at least get 24 minutes, so I’m happy. The race ended on the field of the minor league baseball team, the Brooklyn Cyclones. It was a really neat finish.
end-of-race

After the race, we received two free beer tickets, fruit, and barbecue spread(which Lisa and I didn’t partake in). The day started out cloudy and extremely humid (which made for a hot run), but ended up clearing up for the rest of the day.
coors-light

celebration
Lisa and I took off our tank tops and shoes and walked the boardwalk in our sports bras, celebrated with some Corona Lights, matching sunglasses, and Mexican food, and dipped our toes into the freezing Atlantic Ocean. It was a fun day!
atlantic-ocean

Next up on the race calendar:

Aug. 25 – NYCRuns Shore Road Summer Classic (10K)
Sept. 8 – Tri-State Super Spartan
Sept. 14 – NYCRuns Brooklyn Narrows Half Marathon

Have a great day! I still have so much to catch you up on and many exciting new things coming up, so keep checking back! 🙂

One thought on “Take Your Base 5K recap

Leave a Reply

