My first MARATHON!

Happy Friday! Guess what? I’m doing a marathon! WHAT?!

marathon-registration

Yup, you heard right. I’ve gone off the deep end, I know. I must be crazy. Well, here’s the story about how it happened:

So, I get asked quite often if I run marathons. My response: “No. But I’ve done a few half marathons.”

Sounds pretty pathetic, right? Just saying “half marathon” is really getting to me. I’d like to introduce “full marathon” into my running vocabulary.

While half marathons are still pretty tough (props to anyone who has done one), I always feel like I make excuses for not doing a full marathon. Not anymore! Plus, it would just sound better if I said “Why yes, I tortured myself and ran a gruelling 26.2 miles. Can’t wait for the next one!” Don’t you think?

My friend Erika ran the Philadelphia Marathon last year, and a few other close friends have done a few, so it got me thinking that, well, I could probably do one. The verdict is out on that until April 26, 2014. 😉

I would absolutely loooove to do the Disney World Marathon, but we decided to find one we all wanted to do. (I think Erika and I are going to do one of the Disney half marathons next year, though!) So, we began the search, debating the pros and cons to find just the right race. After a few days, we found it: The Nashville Marathon!

And now, it’s official. We are doing it. I’m a mixture of emotions right now: excited; surprised that I actually agreed to this; nervous; in major denial; motivated. Signing up was the first (and easiest) step. Now I have to work up to run 26.2 miles. 26.2 miles, people. Yikes!

We agreed it would be the perfect location (hello, country music!), great weather at the end of April, and the route looks fun and fairly flat. Jeff is going to try to come cheer us on, and we’re trying to get some other friends and family members to make a weekend out of it! Plus, Craig Morgan is performing that night and it’s free admission for all participants!

So, now comes the mental prep, training and conditioning, and healthy eating part. (Keep reminding me… why did I signed up for this). Any suggestions for a first-time marathoner? While I don’t want to focus on time, (I’d just be happy to finish without walking) but the competitor in me definitely wants to get a time under 4 hours. I’d love any suggestions!

Nashville 2014 or bust! Whoop!

P.S. I’m heading to Arizona today for my bridal showers, dress fittings, and various other wedding tasks. I’ll make sure to recap. 🙂

One thought on “My first MARATHON!

  1. Pingback: Zippa-Dee Do-Da! |

Leave a Reply

