Kale and Bell Pepper Egg Bake for Earth Day!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetHappy Earth Day! Although I recycle every day, contribute to composts, and regularly hug trees, I still like to celebrate our lovely Mother Earth on its very special day. So today, I’m going to volunteer at the Sustainable Healing Herb Garden in Brooklyn. I’m so excited to get digging in the dirt!

In honor of Earth Day, I have a delicious dish packed with greens and fresh veggies.
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI’ve certainly been obsessed over kale lately. I must buy two bushels a week. It’s.so.good. I’m lucky Jeff is obsessed too and loves all his green veggies!

I steamed down the kale, then sauteed it with mixed bell peppers. I whipped six eggs and some Asiago cheese, with a little fat-free milk until it was super fluffy, then mixed in the kale and poured it into my cast iron skillet. I topped with the bell peppers, diced scallions, and a little more Asiago, then baked it at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes, until the eggs were firm.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI added sliced avocado on top because, well, I couldn’t resist adding more greens!
IMG_7475It would be great to make on a Sunday, cut into sixths, and then heat up in the morning for breakfast during the week. You’ll love it!

Are you doing anything to celebrate Earth Day?

xx
Ashley

Leave a Reply

