Fred Lebow Half Marathon Recap: Cancelled

IMG_7003
On of my running buddies [Erika] and I are going to do New York Road Runner’s 9+1 program this year, where you run 9 of their races [only certain ones on their schedule apply] and volunteer for a race. This will guarantee us in to the 2017 TCS NYC marathon. I put my name in for the lottery again this year, but since I got drawn last year, I don’t think my chances are that great. Fingers crossed!

The first race in our 9+1 was the Fred Lebow Half Marathon, a two and a half loop of Central Park. BUT, due to Storm Jonas that swept through NYC this past weekend, it was cancelled. Luckily, the race will still count towards out 9+1! Who else was caught in this snow storm? We got so much snow!

So, instead of running, we brunched at one of our favorite places: Boulton & Watt. We go here just for these pancakes. 🙂
image1 (2)

Then we just walked around in the snowy, halfway deserted NYC streets, and ran into little shops in the Lower East Side and in Soho.
image2 (1)

I’m actually very a bit happy it was cancelled because I’ve had some IT and sciatica pain ever since the TCS NYC Marathon. I’ve been keeping my running light the past few weeks leading up to the half marathon, with short weekday runs and just a few long runs [9 miles on 1/9 and 8 miles on 1/16]—plus lots of high-intensity interval training. I’m also going to my first physical therapy session today, which I’m pretty stoked about.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress! What races are you looking forward to this winter? I think I’ll save my next race for spring/summer and focus on PT and strength [I just started CrossFit and can’t wait to share how it’s going. Have you tried it?]

xx
Ashley

Leave a Reply

